December 18, 2017 Achievements

2016-17 Better Boardsmanship Award Recognition Earned by Krysl

Pictured L to R: Amy Jurrens, IASB Board President and Mike Krysl

Board Members and Administrators from Iowa School Districts and AEAs Recognized for Commitment to Learning and Leadership

Des Moines, Iowa – The Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB) presented the 2016-17 annual Better Boardsmanship Awards in November during the IASB Convention at the Iowa Events Center in Des Moines. At the event, Mike Krysl, board president for the Sioux City Community School District was recognized for the Individual Achievement Award.

The Individual Achievement Award is presented to board member who have earned a minimum of 125 credits in one year.

Overall, 57 board members received the Individual Achievement Award from the following school and area education agency boards:

Ballard East Mills Marshalltown Sioux Center
Belmond-Klemme Galva-Holstein Muscatine Sioux City
Boone Gilmore City-Bradgate New Hampton Solon
Central Rivers AEA Glenwood New London United
Charles City Independence Oskaloosa Waverly-Shell Rock
Colfax-Mingo Iowa City Pleasantville West Des Moines
Colo-NESCO Johnston Sheldon
Decorah Le Mars Sibley-Ocheyedan

Additional awards presented at the banquet include: Award of Honor, Team Achievement Award and 30 Year Better Boardsmanship Award Winner. The awards are given each year to individual board members, board teams and administrators who dedicate time and work to learning, advocacy, leadership and service projects to expand their knowledge and skills for better governance. Applicants must earn credit toward these awards.

Please visit the IASB website for a full list of award winners and photos of the winners receiving recognition.

IASB is a private, nonprofit organization representing Iowa’s 333 school districts, nine area education agencies and 15 community colleges.


For more information contact: Tammy Votava, IASB Communications Director,, (515) 247-7040