May 7, 2018 Academics

St. Luke’s hosts reception for SCCSD HOSA students

HOSA reception st lukes

Monday, May 7th at 2:30 p.m. UnityPoint Health – St. Luke’s Leadership Team hosted a celebratory reception for HOSA, or Health Occupational Students of America, competitors from the Sioux City Community School District (SCCSD) qualifying for the International HOSA competition.  UnityPoint Health – St. Luke’s contributed $4,000 to support the HOSA program this year.

Twenty-one students and two advisors attended the 2018 HOSA State Conference March 11-13 in Des Moines. Students from East, North, and West High Schools were honored as finalists in a wide variety of categories. All five Sioux City HOSA Teaching Advisors were also recognized as Outstanding HOSA Advisors this year.

Nine students earned First Place in team competition: PSA Team and Biomedical Debate Team. Three students earned First Place in individual events: Pharmacy Science, Job Seeking, Extemporaneous Writing and Medical Spelling. Seven students eared Second or Third Place in Health Career Display, Extemporaneous Health Poster, Pharmacy Science and Prepared Speaking.  Six of our students qualified to compete at the International level in more than one event.

14 students total qualified for the International HOSA Conference by finishing First, Second, or Third in a competition at the State HOSA Conference. The International HOSA Conference is in Dallas, Texas June 27-30 and the students who qualified will need to fundraise or pay for the trip and registration to be able to compete.

Funds donated from UnityPoint Health – St. Luke’s allowed 12 of the 21 students attending the State competition to pay for registration and travel to Des Moines. UnityPoint Health -St. Luke’s contribution will also help with registration expenses for the International Conference and Competition.

Students eligible to attend Internationals include:

East High – Debora Allard, Mikael Bunch, Rudy De Anda, Amanda Galles, Teagan Hays

North High – Sierra Berg, Kathleen Dam, Christine Ly, Wajeeha Mariam, Kaden Nieto, Analy Phonephakdy

West High – Caprice Delperdang, Carson Goddard, Kennedy Jaerger, Quyen Le, Andrew Reyna, Michel Salmeron, Yahaira Sanchez, Hannah Trometer, Kelly Vu, Simone Youssefpour