May 20, 2019 Academics

Northwest Iowa top senior scholars honored by Gov. Kim Reynolds

Several Northwest Iowa graduating seniors received honors from Gov. Kim Reynolds in a ceremony for the 17th annual Governor’s Scholar Recognition ceremony held at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines.

The senior students were selected by their high schools as the highest academic achievers. The program included remarks from Iowa’s Teacher of the Year, Christopher Burke, a middle-school math teacher from Dubuque.

More than 61 percent of the students in the event plan to pursue their post-secondary education in Iowa.

The event was sponsored by the Governor’s Office, the Iowa High School Athletic Association and Iowa Farm Bureau Federation.

The Sioux City School District students included:

Nathan Kitrell and Kaylee Vick, Sioux City East; Benjamin Gillette and Hailey Hoogers, Sioux City North; Carli Gasaway and Anna Kern, Sioux City West.

View the full article by Bret Hayworth on the Sioux City Journal.