November 14, 2019 • Announcements

Sioux City Community School District Students Selected for Opus Honor Choir

Several Sioux City Community School District (SCCSD) students earned the honor to participate in the thirty-third annual Opus Honor Choir Festival. Close to 2,600 students earned nominations by their directors. Students submitted a recorded audition and 720 students earned a place in one of four Opus Honor Choirs.

The 2019 Opus Honor Choirs will perform November 21 at 4:00 p.m. in C.Y. Stephens Auditorium located in the Iowa State Center in Ames. The Iowa Choral Directors Association, Inc. makes the Opus Honor Choir Festival possible.

Congratulations to the following Sioux City students and their directors selected to participate: 

East Middle

Director Mrs. Abby Leusink-Sheppard

Mackenzie Crawford – 7/8th Treble Honor Choir

Maura Munson – 7/8th Treble Honor Choir

Delilah Thompson – 7/8th Treble Honor Choir

East High

Director Ms. Nikki Yablonski

Nizsha Flory – 9th Mixed Honor Choir

North Middle

Director Mr. Chris Miller

Jaide Riessen – 7/8th Treble Honor Choir