February 4, 2020 Announcements

Top teachers to be honored at Wednesday luncheon with the Governor

Head shot of Luis Lemus

Ten of Iowa’s top teachers will be honored during an annual luncheon on Wednesday, Feb. 5, in Altoona. Gov. Kim Reynolds and Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg will join Iowa Department of Education Director Ryan Wise in hosting the Outstanding Iowa Teachers Recognition Luncheon.

The luncheon will recognize finalists and winners of the Iowa Teacher of the Year award, the Iowa Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, and the State History Teacher of the Year award (names and schools are listed below).

George Anderson, the 2020 Iowa Teacher of the Year, will give the keynote speech.

WHEN: Wednesday, Feb. 5, 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. (Recognitions will start around 11:45.)
WHERE: The Meadows Events & Conference Center, Bishop C Ballroom, 1 Prairie Meadows Dr., Altoona


2020 Iowa Teacher of the Year:

  • Award-winner: George Anderson, Kennedy High School, Cedar Rapids Community School District
  • Finalists: Corrine Brown, Cedar Heights Elementary School, Cedar Falls Community School District; Luis Lemus, Irving Dual Language Elementary School, Sioux City Community School District; Dan Loy, Beaver Creek Elementary School, Johnston Community School District; Joan Nikkel, Pella Middle School, Pella Community School District

Iowa History Teacher of the Year:

  • Award-winner: Kelly Steffen, Vinton-Shellsburg High School, Vinton-Shellsburg Community School District

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching*

  • Math Finalists: Sharon Jaeschke, Southeast Valley High School, Prairie Valley Community School District; Stephanie Steines, Decorah High School, Decorah Community School District
  • Science Finalists: Bradley Jacobson, Central Academy, Des Moines Public Schools; Carol Reierson, North Fayette Valley Middle School, North Fayette Valley Community School District

*State award-winners have not been announced by a national selection committee.

Press Release from the Iowa Department of Education.