Educational Equity Committee Meeting Minutes – February 12, 2021

District Mission: The Sioux City Community School District exists to educate students to believe in their talents and skills, achieve academic excellence and succeed in reaching their potential.

Chairperson: Tito Parker

Secretary: Dulce Sanchez

The Educational Equity Committee (EEC) met on Friday, February 12, 2021 in the ESC Board Room.

Committee Members Present: Jason Jackson, Karen Mackey, Shana Michalski, Tito Parker, Stephan Pearson, and Joe Riker (virtual)

District Employees Present: Stephanie Alcaraz, Dr. Kim Buryanek, Lori Gentry, Dr. Jen Gomez, LaShawna Moyle, Amber Sackmann, and Dulce Sanchez

School Board Directors Present: Dr. Juline Albert and Jeremy Saint

Guests: Daniel Harder

SIAC & EEC 2020-21 Report

The Student Improvement Advisory Committee (SIAC) and Educational Equity Committee (EEC) 2020-21 Report was presented. Dr. Buryanek and Dr. Gomez introduced the chairs of their respective committees. Daniel Harder of the SIAC and Tito Parker of the EEC presented the report.

After the report, Dr. Buryanek, Dr. Gomez, Daniel Harder, and Tito Parker opened the floor for discussion.

Follow Up on Data

Dr. Gomez provided the Dual Enrollment Course Data to the EEC. The EEC reviewed the data and provided feedback, comments, questions, and concerns.