Educational Equity Committee Meeting – September 11, 2020

District Mission: The Sioux City Community School District exists to educate students to believe in their talents and skills, achieve academic excellence and succeed in reaching their potential.

Chairperson: Tito Parker

Secretary: Dulce Sanchez

The Educational Equity Committee met on Friday, September 11, 2020 at the ESC Room 102.

Committee Members Present: Dr. Julie Albert, Don Dew, Bernie Hess, Shana Michalski, Tito Parker, Stephan Pearson.

District Employees and School Board Directors Present: Dr. Kim Buryanek, Lori Gentry, Jen Gomez, Amber Sackmann, Dulce Sanchez.

Educational Equity Committee Bylaws

Jen Gomez reviewed the Educational Equity Committee Bylaws including the Foundational beliefs, Purpose, Membership, Terms, Officers, and Meetings. Essentially, the Educational Equity Committee provides guidance through an equity lens.

Membership Terms

Jen Gomez reviewed the Educational Equity Committee membership for the 2020‐2021 School Year, including term expiration dates. Members serve three‐year terms, but can request additional terms. Committee members are appointed by the Sioux City Community School District Board of Directors.

Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Committee members voted for the committee Chair and Vice Chair. Tito Parker will remain as the Chair and Stephan Pearson will continue as the Vice Chair.

Equity Data Dig

The Educational Equity Committee will engage in various data digs throughout the first semester and provide a report to the Student Achievement Committee.

The committee reviewed two data sets: enrollment and behavior. The enrollment data set is disaggregated by gender, race/ethnicity, special education, 504, ELL, and SES. The behavior data set is disaggregated by gender and race/ethnicity.

The Educational Equity Committee used an Examining Data Protocol, which included identifying patterns/trends, surprising/unexpected data, positive and concerning data points, and questions.

Roundtable Items

Jen went over the Community Eligibility Provision schools, in which all students at these schools receive free meals. The following schools are identified as Community Eligibility:

  • Irving Elementary 
  • Unity Elementary 
  • Loess Hills Elementary 
  • Bryant Elementary 
  • Liberty Elementary 
  • Hunt Elementary 
  • Spalding Park Elementary 
  • West Middle School